The importance of your space

I appreciated the additional reading this week for Block, Chapter 31 Caring about Place.  While chapter 17 of our text did lend a little to the topic of the setup of the room, this section definitely goes into greater detail.   My Director and I both have toyed with the set up of the room often, especially when it is a class that requires dialogue and interaction in order to be meaningful for the students.  At times however we do not have the choice and arrive to a room that has been set up by others, often in classroom style.  When the room is set up in this fashion, I tend to pace and was told once by someone that they appreciated that about my teaching style.  A habit that I feel at times is more due to nerves than anything else, I reflect now on the fact that it does also bring me closer to those in other areas of the room besides the front row.  I’m also curious about the possibilities that chairs on wheels and no tables could provide.  Perhaps something to consider the next time we experiment with room set up…

About hdjackson

Graduate Student at Virginia Commonwealth University studying the theoretical world of Adult Learning along with its relation to Human Resources Developement. View all posts by hdjackson

One response to “The importance of your space

  • Lindsey

    Caring About Place really hit home for me as well. Not only because it was my assigned chapter to teach but because I love the way a space can evoke a mood or set a tone. I thought Block’s perspective on technology was interesting, because the technology courses I’ve been taking have demonstrated quite the opposite. With technology being such a central part of our culture, I think we will continue to see it as an element of design in most meeting/business spaces but it is more of how it is used that can make or break social bonds.
    In terms of pacing, I’ve always seen that as a good thing! I don’t particularly like standing at front and center and as you said, circulating allows for better facilitator-learner proximity to see what is going on from a different perspective. This often leads to new insight about the learners which allows the facilitator to prompt and engage spontaneously…perhaps the more authentic approach?!

Leave a Reply

