Readings reveal a name for my experience?

As I continued my reading today of Schein’s text on process consultation, I discovered that my experience the other day was actually considered to be a form of active inquiry (?). Perhaps I was in effect building the client’s trust and gaining their confidence without knowing it in order to get the full story. Which, as Schein suggests in chapter 3, is a good way to get the true story from the client. As mentioned in the blog written yesterday, if I had truly taken what the client said in the beginning at face value I would have provided assistance in a very ineffective direction. Perhaps it could be labeled as “exploratory diagnostic inquiry” as mentioned on page 46? He essentially seems to say that we look for feelings and reactions and continue to question until the full story has been provided….As I read somewhere, at the moment where exactly escapes me, “sometimes, no matter our wisdom, we must humble ourselves to what we don’t know or haven’t yet discovered.”

About hdjackson

Graduate Student at Virginia Commonwealth University studying the theoretical world of Adult Learning along with its relation to Human Resources Developement. View all posts by hdjackson

One response to “Readings reveal a name for my experience?

  • Lindsey

    I definitely think your sequence of events is considered active inquiry, because you initially knew something wasn’t right and probed further until more of the truth was revealed. The first conversation you had may have brought a new awareness to the client for her to take away to consider. In the second conversation it seems like she had thought through more of the issue and was therefore ready to open up a little more about it. So maybe some of her resistance was trust but she also needed time to process new revelations. Sometimes I will talk through an issue with a friend and have much more of a comprehensive understanding by the end of the talk. In chapter 4 Schein mentions how the goal is to not only help the client get the requested information but also get assistance in thinking about the problem itself (Schein, p. 71). I’m curious to learn what has transpired since this post!

Leave a Reply

